Getting men to read Romance

Damien Lawless
7 min readAug 14, 2023

“Why more men should read romance and/or erotic romance.” As a man who does write erotic stories I do tend to write most of my male characters from life experiences and perspectives. But yes, I will write other male types but when something is unfamiliar, you of course, do your research. The topic for this article stems from a day that I admittedly did get sidetracked and went down a rabbit hole lol. The following article is not long in length and is aimed to get directly to the points without dragging on.

During my research into a backstory for a cuckold male in one of my stories I stumbled across an article, and not here on Medium, that was titled with the opening sentence. This intrigued me, so naturally I clicked the link and began to read the article, and then another, and then another. That day, a few months ago I spent around 3 hours reading dozens of articles, mainly written by women about this topic, and yes I have to admit that yes, if more men did read these genres of books, in my opinion if they applied at least some of what they read into their relationships, their ladies would be more wholly satisfied.

But, at least from even my perspective as well as my close circle of coworkers…which all are the masculine type and work long hours in a foundry setting. These working men are not going to designate that much time to invest into a story or book series they…

--

--

Damien Lawless

Erotic fiction writer • (Retired in this genre but I do hope you enjoy what is in my library 😊) No new content is coming to this particular account...